The Bee Story

I currently live on the IISc campus. It turns out that I’ve lived most of my life in some campus or other – Bangalore University, IIT Madras, and now IISc and JNCASR. Among the better things about living in an academic campus is that these places usually have much better plant/tree growth than outside. Which also means that one sees a lot of animal life – mammalian, reptilian, molluscan and arthropod – at these places.

The following happens quite often, except I don’t usually have my camera or my wits about me to point and click. I say ‘point and click’, of course, because the pictures are quite ordinary. The lighting seems all right, but there’s quite a bit of blurring.

I’d left a window open, and there was this bee in my room.

[/bee1]

The thing was ginormous. The picture above doesn’t give you any perspective of the scale of the photo. Here’s one that does – the reminder pad is 2’x4′ or so in area:

[/bee2]

Shortly after this, I decided I had to crash. I put a rolled-up newspaper to good use and threw the thing out the window.

4 thoughts on “The Bee Story”

  1. @ Hemanth, Unless you mean I argued the bee out of my room, ‘repudiate’ isn’t the word you should be using!

    @ pf4a, (can I call you that?), I looked at your blog. ‘Nice pic’ coming from you is a compliment. Thanks.

    @ Nair, :D. Fist fight it is! (And not verbal arguments!)

Leave a Reply

