It was 4-2!

I don’t personally have a favourite team in the current football world cup, but I do think England was hard done by  in their round of 16 match against Germany tonight.

One could argue that, for example, had the scoreline been 2-2 at halftime, the English wouldn’t have had to attack like madmen and leave their turf undefended. I [don’t, evidently. See comments.] subscribe to the shoulda-woulda-coulda school of logic, by and large, and don’t know if I accept this argument in its entirety. I do, however, think that Lampard and England were exceedingly unlucky, and that the referee for the match deserves a kick in the backside, the git.

If this doesn’t underscore the need in football for, you know, a guy on the fucking sideline with a damn walkie-talkie and a frikkin TV set, I don’t know what could.

4 thoughts on “It was 4-2!”

  1. >>>I subscribe to the shoulda-woulda-coulda school of logic, by and large<<<

    I believe the word is 'counterfactual'.

  2. Shoulda-woulda-coulda is the exact opposite of counterfactual thinking. As in ‘if England could’ve prevented those two goals, they would’ve’.

  3. 1) WAY too many links. You shoulda realised the spam filter wouldn’t let you post this comment. Which tells me you have more time on your hands than you need.

    2) I plead guilty, milord.

Leave a Reply

