Learning to be Terse

The Earth, the Sun, and one more revolution.

Posted in Digression, Personal by Croor Singh on July 25, 2010

Thursday was my birthday; whatever that means. If you didn’t know this, it’s probably because my Facebook page no longer displays the date. I wrote this down on Thursday, but decided against posting it then, to avoid seeming like I was asking for hugs and pats on my blog, instead of on Facebook. Three days is enough grace-period, right? I mean, Christ died and came back in three days, didn’t he? Didn’t he?! His thing was in fact Friday-to-Sunday. I’m doing you one better than Christ*.

House asks Cameron, in an episode, if he should be celebrating the fact that the Earth, the little planet that could, beat all odds and circled the Sun one more time. House may be a misanthropist, but he has a point.

Which is this: I don’t care for special days. I don’t have a problem with it if my friends do, and I will, insofar as I can, wish friends on the days they think are important to them. I do this because I care about the people, and they care about their birthdays. I’ve been known to even buy presents for people on their birthdays. Again, I would’ve been perfectly happy buying them presents on a randomly generated date from the calendar (I don’t mean like this), but apparently that’s not done, or not expected, or some combination thereof.

My judgement of somebody isn’t coloured by whether or not they happened to remember a date from the calendar, and I mean this both ways. I don’t think any worse of someone for not having greeted me; Nor do I think better of someone just because they did. The only reason I can think of to celebrate one’s birthday (or any other special day) is that it gives people a reason to talk to each other.

Which means one or two things: a) I don’t beat myself up too much if I forget somebody’s birthday. I forgot the birthdays of my brother, and two friends, and all of them were the same day (I did manage to talk to all of them within the day). b) If you didn’t happen to wish me on Thursday, and don’t bring it up when I next talk to you, neither will I. Mostly because I won’t remember. c) If you think these things are important, and did wish me, I was glad for you talking to me, and I thank you.

[hr]

[/hr]

* With any sort of rational search, of course, the whole Christ myth comes crashing down. Go here for a wonderful exposition of this matter. Brian Flemming used to offer free DVDs to anyone who would blaspheme against the holy spirit on YouTube. I don’t know if he still does. Do watch the documentary if you can.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Samvith said, on July 25, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    “I don’t know about you, but I’m getting sick of pretending to be excited every time it’s somebody’s birthday, you know what I mean? What is the big deal? How many times do we have to celebrate that someone was born? Every year, over and over… All you did was not die for twelve months. That’s all you’ve done, as far as I can tell.” – Seinfeld

  2. Croor said, on July 25, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    :)

    I’m only saying I don’t want to do anything about my birthday, though. I’m quite happy to indulge in other people’s birthdays.

  3. Samvith said, on July 25, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    Same here. I’m in it mostly for the ensuing treat :D

  4. Ravikanth said, on July 26, 2010 at 5:58 am

    rofl. perfect. even i care only when the other person cares


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

